behind the firebreakers photoshoot


for the teleidescope theme  “freeze/warmth” nellie (aliza) and I (bobo/zev) have been talking for a while of doing a picture with fire and water. at long last, and rather on the proverbial spur of the moment, we piled into the car with our good friend eunice (or couth), brothers, mothers, torches and towels and headed to Nantasket beach just in time for sunset.

arriving at the beach, as the last glimmer of sun disappears (by couth):

once dipped in oil, we light the torches (by couth):

then set out in to the water (by couth):

and I start shooting, and shouting directions (by couth):

here are some outtakes that I shoot (by zev (me!)):

and the finale picture (by me):

after shooting, we sit on the beach and eat Indian food we picked up on the way there (by nellie):

and then we watch a amazing unexpected fireworks show (by nellie):

what a day.  here is a stop motion animation by couth of the whole evening:

10 thoughts on “behind the firebreakers photoshoot

  1. Thanks for doing the post!
    A fantasy rooted in (su)reality.
    Me, i too watched fireworks last night (at what is marketed as the happiest place on earth), and wished I was 3000 miles away.
    The stop motion was a blast.

  2. Hi there Zev! My name is Lilit Marcus and I work for the Today Show. We love your work and would like to feature some of your photos on our website. Can you get in touch with me so we can talk more about it? My email is lilit.marcus@yahoo.com.

  3. Hello! I know this is somewhat off topic but I was wondering if you knew where I could find a captcha plugin
    for my comment form? I’m using the same blog platform as yours and
    I’m having difficulty finding one? Thanks a lot!

  4. Undeniably believe that that you stated. Your favourite reason seemed to be on the net
    the simplest factor to have in mind of. I say to you, I certainly get annoyed while other people think about
    issues that they plainly don’t recognise about.
    You managed to hit the nail upon the highest as neatly as defined out the
    whole thing with no need side effect , people can take a
    signal. Will likely be again to get more.
    Thanks

thoughts?